THE most difficult movement to succeed in functional training (and the most ignored) is without a doubt the pull up (read traction in French). As humans are a machine that moves forward and pushes most of the day, it is normal that we are more comfortable in all exercises that require us to push rather than pull. Doing a pull up is not like learning to ride a bike and being able to do it again 4 years later in the same way. A pull up will always be difficult, especially if you stop training it.

While the squat is the chief of the lower extremity exercises, you must realize that the pull up is the upper extremity. In fact, only if your goal is to achieve an optimal level of fitness. In physical preparation, the pull up is one of the most important exercises to prevent injuries and achieve an incomparable level of functional strength.

Biomechanics of the pull up

In order to pull up successfully, the work your muscles have to do is quite high. This is based on your mass (your body weight) and the distance you have to travel to bring your chin over the bar (so let’s say the distance of your arms, between the bar and your shoulders). A simple equation tells you that the higher your mass and the greater the distance you must reach, the more difficult it will be for you to accomplish the required work.

 

For example, a man with very very high muscle mass will most likely have more difficulty in gaining mass. On the other hand, think of someone who is the same weight as you, but who has shorter arms. It will be much easier for that person to do the required work. Logically, lighter people with shorter segments (shoulder-to-hand distance) will always have an advantage.

In the supine and over pronation pull up, the dorsals and biceps are the agonist muscles. Note that in the supine one, the biceps shorten at the elbow while the short portion of the biceps lengthens at the shoulder. The latter therefore has a stabilizing role, preventing the anterior sliding of the head of the humerus. In the overhand pull up, it is rather the long head of the biceps that takes on this stabilizing role as the grip is wider and the hands are positioned more body-width apart.

Most importantly, one of the two is easier to perform. In the supine pull up, the lever arm (the distance between the shoulder and the hand) is closer to the center of gravity at the top of the stroke (when your chin is over the bar). In addition, it allows the biceps brachialis to pull in a better mechanical position compared to the overhand pull up, or it is rather the brachioradialis that will benefit more than the brachialis.

TRACK OF SOLUTIONS

  • If you have a high weight: I will not tell you lies, the decrease in your weight will certainly allow you to achieve more pull ups. I see it easily in professional boxers: at the beginning of the training cycle towards a fight where they regain their “healthy” weight, they are able to do much less pull ups than when they are approaching their fight, where they must approach their fight weight.
  • If you have a high leverage: unfortunately you cannot shorten this. However, we will need to increase your volume because you will only be able to achieve the same draw volume as someone with shorter segments.
  • You’ve never done traditional weight training: pulling up is like trying to do a top corner wrist throw in hockey. There are quite a few skills to learn first, like holding on to your skates without falling. Strength training is exactly that, it is the foundation of the foundation of your foundation. There are variations of exercises to master before you jump on the bar. A good traditional bodybuilding program will forever be the solution to achieve your goal and that means resorting to exercises as traditional as the bicep curl (YES SIR!)
  • You are a woman: excuse me for not being “woke” on this one, my goal is to tell you the truth, men have a physiological advantage, that is to have a higher muscle mass of the upper limbs. Girls, the secret in your training is simple, it increases your strength level starting with SLIGHTLY increasing your lean mass. Immediately you have to tell yourself that I just contradicted myself, but in fact, here I am talking about having lean mass to allow you to do pull ups and not maximum lean mass.

TRAINING PROGRAM

  • Here is an example of a workout schedule that we would give to someone who would like to do their first pull ups. Our approach is based on the following points:
  • At a minimum, you should train your draw at the high bar, twice a week
  • You need to achieve a good volume of pull-up, meaning you can only limit yourself to a portion of your workout, or place your pull-up sequence, at the end of your workout. The classic approach in functional fitness would be that you would do a first part based on your upper body strength, and then move on to metabolic conditioning. While you will definitely see results, they will not be optimal if your goal is to achieve your pull ups, quickly. Make this a priority, either at the start of your workout or as a specific workout!
  • One day emphasizes rather eccentric contractions while another focuses on concentric and isometric contractions. Working out each type of contraction will increase the level of recruitment of your muscle fibers and their frequency of discharge.
  • Prepare well: don’t spare the warm-ups, they are excellent neuromuscular activation that will allow you to activate more fibers during each contraction. Suddenly, you will also feel a “potentiation” effect due to the load used for the “weighted” portion and for the time under tension on the bar.
  • Prioritize a time under tension rather than a number of repetitions in the concentric day. This will allow you to accumulate a higher volume than a workout focused on the number of repetitions.
  • Maximize hypertrophy by ending the session with uni-articular and bicep isolation exercises. This will allow you to increase its relative contribution.

 

Week # 1 @ 4 – Beginner (I do zero pull ups)
Day # 1 – Eccentric day

Warm up “scap endurance”

EMOM 6MIN

1: Scap pull ups x10

2: Top of bar dip hold – 30sec

3: Ring scap pull ups x10

 

SUPER SET

A1.Eccentric pull up supinated or pronated

Week 1: 3 x3-5 (down 4-5 sec), rest 30s

Week 2: 4 x4-6 (down 4-5 sec), rest 30s

Week 3: 5 x4-6 (down 4-5 sec), rest 30s

Week 4: 2x 5-7 (down 4-5sec), rest30s

 

A2.DB bench press neutral grip

Week 1: 3 x5-6 (down 4-5 sec), rest 90s

Week 2: 4 x5-6 (down 4-5 sec), rest 90s

Week 3: 5 x5-6 (down 4-5 sec), rest 90s

Week 4: 2x 5-6 (down 4-5sec), rest 90s

 

TRI-SETS

B1.Incline bench db bent over row

Week 1: 3 x12 T3030, rest 30s

Week 2: 3 x12 T3030, rest 30s

Week 3: 4×10-12 T3030, rest 30s

Week 4: 2×8-10 T3030, rest 30s

 

B2.Back to wall barbell / Db curl

Week 1: 3 x12 T3130, rest 30s

Week 2: 3 x12 T3130, rest 30s

Week 3: 4×10-12 T3130, rest 30s

Week 4: 2×8-10 T3130, rest 30s

 

B3.DB supine triceps extension

Week 1: 3 x12 T3130, rest 90s

Week 2: 3 x12 T3130, rest 90s

Week 3: 4×10-12 T3130, rest 90s

Week 4: 2×8-10 T3130, rest 90s

3 sets

 

C.Db rev fly 3×15 TX030

Day # 2 – Concentric & Isometric day

Warm up “weighted”

EMOM 6MIN

1: Weighted active hang – hold 30sec

2: Weighted top of bar dip hold 30sec

3: Weighted ring plank 30sec

EMOM # 1

A.Every 30s or 45sec

Opt1: Banded supinated pull up

Opt2: Banded pronated pull up

Week 1: For 6min x1-2 TX120

Week 2: For 9min x1-3 TX120

Week 3: For 9min x2-3

Week 4: For 6min x2-3

EMOM # 2

B.EMOM #MIN (6-8-10-8)

1: Top of pull up hold

2: Incline db bench press

 

RETOUR AUX ARTICLES

LE mouvement le plus difficile à réussir en entraînement fonctionnel (et le plus ignoré) est sans aucun doute le pull up (lire traction en français). L’être humain étant une machine qui avance et pousse la majeure partie de sa journée, c’est normal que nous soyons plus à l’aise dans tous les exercices qui nous demandent plutôt de pousser que de tirer. Faire un pull up, ce n’est pas comme apprendre à faire du vélo et pouvoir en refaire 4 ans plus tard de la même façon. Un pull up, sera toujours difficile, surtout si tu arrêtes de l’entraîner.

Pendant que le squat est le chef des exercices des membres inférieurs, vous devez vous rendre à l’évidence que le pull up, c’est celui des membres supérieurs. En fait, seulement si votre objectif est d’atteindre un niveau de condition physique optimal. En préparation physique, le pull up est l’un des exercices les plus importants afin de prévenir les blessures et d’atteindre un niveau de force fonctionnel incomparable.

Biomécanique du pull up

Pour réussir un pull up, le travail que tes muscles doivent accomplir est assez élevé. Celui-ci se base en fonction de ta masse (le poids de ton corps) et la distance que tu dois parcourir pour amener ton menton par-dessus la barre (donc disons la distance de tes bras, entre la barre et tes épaules). Une équation simple te fait comprendre que plus ta masse est élevée et plus la distance que tu dois parcourir est élevée, plus ce sera difficile pour toi d’accomplir le travail demandé.

 

Par exemple, un homme avec une masse musculaire très très élevée, aura fort probablement plus de difficultés à tirer sa masse. D’un autre côté, pensez à une personne qui a le même poids que vous, mais qui a des bras plus courts. Ce sera bien plus facile pour cette personne d’effectuer le travail demandé. Logiquement, les gens plus légers avec des segments plus courts (distance épaule-main) auront toujours un avantage.

Dans le pull up en supination et en pronation, ce sont les dorsaux et les biceps qui sont les muscles agonistes. À noter que dans celui en supination, les biceps se raccourcissent au niveau du coude tandis que la courte portion du biceps se rallonge au niveau de l’épaule. Cette dernière possède donc un rôle de stabilisation, prévenant le glissement antérieur de la tête de l’humérus. Dans le pull up en pronation, c’est plutôt la longue tête du biceps qui occupe ce rôle de stabilisation étant donné que la grip est plus large et que les mains sont positionnées plutôt à une distance de la largeur du corps.

Le plus important à savoir, c’est qu’un des deux, est plus facile à exécuter. Dans le pull up en supination, le bras de levier (la distance entre l’épaule et la main) est plus proche du centre de gravité dans le haut du mouvement (quand ton menton est par-dessus la barre). De plus, il permet au biceps brachialis de tirer dans une meilleure position mécanique comparativement au pull up en pronation, ou c’est plutôt le brachioradial qui sera plus avantagée que le brachialis.

PISTE DE SOLUTIONS

  • Si tu as un poids élevé : je ne te ferrai pas de mensonges, la diminution de ton poids te permettra très certainement de réussir plus de pull ups.Je le vois facilement chez des boxers professionnels : en début de cycle d’entraînement vers un combat où ils retrouvent leur poids « santé », ils sont en mesure de faire bien moins de pull ups que lorsqu’ils s’approchent de leur combat, où ils doivent s’approcher de leur poids de combats.
  • Si tu as un bras de levier élevé : tu ne peux malheureusement pas raccourcir ceci. Par contre, nous devrons augmenter ton volume car tu ne pourras atteindre le même volume de tirage que quelqu’un ayant des segments plus courts.
  • Tu n’as jamais fait de musculation traditionnelle : faire un pull up c’est comme essayer de faire un lancer du poignet « top corner » en hockey. Il y a pas mal d’habiletés à acquérir avant, comme tenir sur tes patins sans tomber. Faire de la musculation, c’est exactement ça, c’est la base de la base de ta base.Il y a des variations d’exercices à maîtriser avant de te lancer sur la barre. Un bon programme de musculation traditionnel sera éternellement la solution pour atteindre ton objectif et ça ça veut dire avoir recours à des exercices aussi traditionnel que le biceps curl (YES SIR !)
  • Tu es une femme : excuse moi de ne pas être« woke » sur ce coup, mon but est de te dire la vérité, es hommes ont un avantage physiologique, soit celui d’avoir une masse musculaire plus élevé des membres supérieurs. Les girls, le secret dans votre entraînement est simple, il fait augmenter votre niveau de force en commençant par augmenter LÉGÈREMENT votre masse maigre.Aussitôt tu dois te dire que je viens de me contredire, mais en fait, ici je te parle d’avoir une masse maigre pour te permettre de faire des pull ups et non pas une masse maigre maximale.

 

PROGRAMME D’ENTRAÎNEMENT

Voici un exemple de programme d’entrainement que nous donnerions à quelqu’un qui voudrait faire son premier pull ups. Notre approche se base sur les points suivants :

  • Vous devez au minimum, entraînez votre tirage à la barre haute, deux fois par semaines

 

  • Vous devez obtenir un volume intéressant de tirage, c’est-à-dire que vous ne pouvez-vous limiter qu’à une portion de votre entraînement ou placer votre séquence de pull ups, à la fin de votre entraînement. L’approche classique en functional fitness serait que vous feriez une première partie basée sur votre force du haut du corps, pour ensuite passer vers un conditionnement métabolique. Bien que vous aurez certainement des résultats, ils ne seront pas optimales si votre objectif est d’atteindre vos pull ups, rapidement.Placer ceci en priorité, soit au début de votre séance ou comme séance spécifique !

 

  • Une journée met l’emphase sur des contractions plutôt eccentrique tandis qu’une autre sur les contractions concentriques et isométriques. Travailler chaque type de contractions augmentera le niveau de recrutement de vos fibres musculaires et leur fréquence de décharge.

 

  • Préparez-vous bien : n’épargnez pas les échauffements, ils sont d’excellentes activation neuromusculaire qui vous permettront d’activer plus de fibres lors de chaque contraction. Du coup, vous sentirez aussi un effet de « potentialisation » du à la charge utilisée pour la portion « weighted » et pour le temps sous tension sur la barre.

 

  • Prioriser un temps sous tension plutôt qu’un nombre de répétitions dans la journée concentrique. Ceci vous permettra de cumuler un plus haut volume qu’une séance axé sur le nombre de répétitions.

 

  • Maximiser l’hypertrophie en terminant la séance avec des exercices uni-articulaires et d’isolation du biceps. Ceci vous permettra d’augmenter sa contribution relative.

 

Semaine #[email protected] – Débutant  (Je fais zéro pull ups)

Jour #1  – Eccentric day

Warm up « scap endurance »

EMOM 6MIN

1: Scap pull ups x10

2: Top of bar dip hold – 30sec

3: Ring scap pull ups x10

SUPER SET

A1.Eccentric pull up supinated or pronated

Semaine 1 :3 x3-5 (down 4-5 sec), rest 30s

Semaine 2 :4 x4-6 (down 4-5 sec), rest 30s

Semaine 3 : 5 x4-6 (down 4-5 sec), rest 30s

Semaine 4 : 2x 5-7 (down 4-5sec), rest30s

A2.DB bench press neutral grip

Semaine 1 :3 x5-6 (down 4-5 sec), rest 90s

Semaine 2 :4 x5-6 (down 4-5 sec), rest 90s

Semaine 3 :5 x5-6 (down 4-5 sec), rest 90s

Semaine 4 :2x 5-6 (down 4-5sec), rest 90s

TRI-SETS

B1.Incline bench db bent over row

Semaine 1 :3 x12 T3030, rest 30s

Semaine 2 :3 x12 T3030, rest 30s

Semaine 3 :4×10-12 T3030, rest 30s

Semaine 4 :2×8-10 T3030, rest 30s

B2.Back to wall barbell /Db curl

Semaine 1 :3 x12 T3130, rest 30s

Semaine 2 :3 x12 T3130, rest 30s

Semaine 3 :4×10-12 T3130, rest 30s

Semaine 4 :2×8-10 T3130, rest 30s

B3.DB supine triceps extension

Semaine 1 :3 x12 T3130, rest 90s

Semaine 2 :3 x12 T3130, rest 90s

Semaine 3 :4×10-12 T3130, rest 90s

Semaine 4 :2×8-10 T3130, rest 90s

3 sets

C.Db rev fly 3×15 TX030

Jour #2 – Concentric & Isometric day

Warm up « weighted » 

EMOM 6MIN

1: Weighted active hang – hold 30sec

2 :Weighted top of bar dip hold 30sec

3: Weighted ring plank 30sec

EMOM #1

A.Every 30s or 45sec

Opt1:Banded supinated pull up

Opt2:Banded pronated pull up

Semaine 1 : For 6min x1-2 TX120

Semaine 2 : For 9min x1-3 TX120

Semaine 3 : For 9min x2-3

Semaine 4 : For 6min x2-3

EMOM #2

B.EMOM #MIN  (6-8-10-8)

1: Top of pull up hold

2: Incline db bench press

 

Pull up hold

Semaine 1 : 30sec ME TX120

Semaine 2 : 35sec ME Tx120

Semaine 3 : 40sec ME TX120

Semaine 4 : max effort

 

Incline db bench press

Semaine 1 : x8-10 TX120

Semaine 2 : x7-8 TX120

Semaine 3 : x6-8 TX120

Semaine 4 : x6RM

EMOM #3

B.EMOM #MIN (6-8-8-6)

1 : Ring row / Feet elevated ring row

2: DB push ups

Semaine 1 : 30sec ME TX120

Semaine 2 : 35sec ME Tx120

Semaine 3 : 40sec ME TX120

Semaine 4 : max effort unbroken

3 sets

B1.Barbell /Db neutral grip curl x12 T3130

B2.Single DB overhead triceps ext x12

Semaine 1 :3 x12 T1020, rest 90s

Semaine 2 :3 x12 T1020, rest 90s

Semaine 3 :4×10-12 T1020, rest 90s

Semaine 4 :2×8-10 T1020, rest 90s

3 sets

C1.Incline bench prone trap raise x12

C2. Powell raise  TX030

Rest 1min

 

RETOUR AUX ARTICLES